iPhone App Directory
RPG Maker VX

Gallery Members Search Calendar Help

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Collapse

>Announcement

The 2nd Quarter Contest has arrived! Go check it out in the Community Announcements now!

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Script: Confused Player Walk, My very first script
Maximilian
post Apr 3 2008, 05:43 PM
Post #1

Group Icon

EDIT: My mistake, I didn't see the subforum for finished scripts, but I'm not sure how to move this post over there. Could a moderator do this for me please?

Hello everyone.

Feel free to skip my introduction, which follows, and go to the script if you want.

I'm an aspiring programmer who has almost no programming experience and I know absolutely nothing specifically about Ruby/RGSS2 except what I've picked up just by looking at others' scripts that I found on here. This script took me a combined total of 8 hours to get it right. I'm sure anyone reading this could do it in minutes but bear with me as it is my first VX script.
What I was aiming for was Earthbound-SNES and its manipulation of the walking-around-map depending on character status. I started with Confusion, which, in Earthbound rotates the D-pad every minute or so making left become up, up become right and etc.
The hard part for me was figuring out how to ask the question "Is Actor 001 inflicted with state Confusion?". I had no idea how to do this but finally figured it out by trial and error. The rest came easily enough from my one semester of C++, adapting the syntax for RGSS2.

So I'll get to the point.
I'm posting this for two audiences,
  1. RMVX RPG Makers to use in their games, you have my permission.
  2. Any form of scripter that would like to view it and offer guidance/criticism/improvements of any kind. Even telling me the script is terrible is fine. smile.gif

In the future I'd like to expand this to include a manipulation for almost every character state.

This post has been edited by Maximilian: Apr 3 2008, 06:52 PM