Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Newbie wants to learn scripting
RPG Maker VX Community > RGSS2/Ruby Scripting > Learning Ruby & RGSS2
shomai19
Okay, so I'm a writer but I've been wanting to learn programming for some time now. We had pascal, c, c++, and visual basic during gradeschool and highschool (cisco replaced these courses midway) and I forgot everything learned already. I went to the ruby site and downloaded 1.9.2 version for windows. I also saw this book about ruby gems at the mall so I'll probably get that. What else do I need?

FenixFyreX
In this forum, at the top, there are pinned topics for stuff like this. Have yiu checked it out? Honestly, I learned by this: Techotopia -- Ruby Essentials and mostly by going into the editor itself and studying and command prompting in ruby.
aaronfeld
Once you have the ruby verson you need go to "run" in the start menu of your comp once the box thingy comes up type "cmd" (without quotes) and once that comes up put "irb" (without quotes) in and you will enter Interactive Ruby. You'll need to know some ruby but it will let you mess around with ruby in a safe enviroment. This is for ruby in genreal and not RGSS2 which you'll use for VX. Techtopia is one of the best resources out there. Books are really good to. Check amazon, I got a amazing book that I'm learning from for like $3 and when the book came out it was like $60 so there a lot of free and very cheep resources out there. I'm not that amazing yet but I find that the best way to learn programing languages and game edtiors is by jumping right in with out looking back.

Hope this stuff helps. Also one thing to remember is that programing is suposed to be FUN! So make sure you have some!
shomai19
Thanks, I already checked the pinned topics (still a bit groggy). ^^

Leridan
QUOTE (FenixFyreX @ Oct 11 2010, 12:22 PM) *
...mostly by going into the editor itself and studying and command prompting in ruby.